sábado, 14 de abril de 2012

Richie Havens - Nobody Left to Crown (repost)

Richie Havens - Nobody Left to Crown - 2008

from http://blogs.epicindia.com

Six of the thirteen songs on Nobody Left To Crown are new originals that Mr. Havens has written for this disc, while the seven covers are ones that speak to either issues of the day or express an idea that he cares passionately about. That last bit might be a tad redundant as I can't think of Richie Havens singing a song if he wasn't able to make an emotional commitment of some kind to it. Interestingly enough one of the covers dates back to the Woodstock era, Pete Townshead's "Won't Get Fooled Again", and Havens' interpretation of it keeps it as pertinent today as it was then.

That's the thing about Nobody Left To Crown that's important to know, Richie Havens maybe a figure some of you think of as belonging to a time in the past, but that is unfair to the man and his music. None of these songs are exercises in nostalgia, nor is the disc some sort of sixties revival thing. This recording has been made for today's world, and the messages it has to impart are relevant to what is going on around us. Listen to the second song on the disc, "Say It Isn't So" and you'll hear what I mean.


Eu upei esse cd há um bom tempo, enquanto eu fazia uns testes com a minha internet e acabei deixando o link solto por aí. Na verdade nem era a minha intenção postá-lo, já que deve ser figurinha fácil em  muitos  fornecedores. Mas, preocupado se deve ser algum pecado mortal tal desperdício, resolvi postá-lo antes que  caia por inatividade. Isso evidentente não quer dizer que trata-se de um disco dispensável, muito pelo contrário. Tanto as músicas inéditas como as covers são dignas de nota. A versão para Won't Get... é especialmente uma bela jóia. Se você não catou ele antes, aproveite e divirta-se.

01. The Key
02. Say It Isn't So
03. Won't Get Fooled Again
04. Standing On The Water
05. Hurricane Waters
06. If I
07. Nobody Left To Crown
08. (Can't You Hear) Zeus's Anger Roar
09. Lives In The Balance
10. We All Know Now
11. Fates
12. The Great Mandala (The Wheel Of Life)
13. One More Day

Richie Havens - Vocals, Acoustic Guitar
Walter Parks  - Guitar
Keith Christopher - Bass
Shawn Pelton - Drums
Stephanie Winters - Cello


Nenhum comentário :