sexta-feira, 21 de setembro de 2018

John "Speedy" Keen - Previous Conviction (RE-RE-RE-RE-UP)

John "Speedy" Keen - Previous Conviction - 1973

John Keen was young Pete Townshend’s flat mate and chauffeur, but he was a musician and songwriter in his own right; in fact, Keen wrote “Armenia City in the Sky” from The Who Sell Out.  In 1969 Pete and manager Kit Lambert paired Speedy up with Andy Newman and Jimmy McCulloch in the ready-made band Thunderclap Newman, which was intended as a showcase for the three musicians.

They recorded an album at Pete’s legendary home studio, and the Keen-penned single “Something in the Air” went on to hit number one in nine different countries.  Not too shabby.

After Thunderclap Newman, Keen recorded two solo albums (this was his first) and then went to work in the studio both as a studio musician and producer.

01 - Old Fashioned Girl
02 - Keep Your Head Down
03 - Let Us In
04 - Somethin' Else
05 - The Flying Wino
06 - Don't You Know He's Coming
07 - Positively 4th Street
08 - Forever After
09 - That's The Way It Is
10 - Keep On The Grass
11 - Aires Lady
12 - Lesliana

Read More HERE

+@320 CD Rip!

sábado, 15 de setembro de 2018

John Entwistle Band - Live

John Entwistle Band - Live - 2004

The John Entwistle Band: Live finds the late Who bassist happily ensconced in his side project at the 1999 Itchycoo Park Festival in Manchester, Tennessee, playing a brief set for an appreciative crowd. Under the circumstances, Entwistle and his quartet wisely stick to Who covers, some composed by Pete Townshend ("The Real Me") and others ("Trick of the Light") by the Ox himself, though Who staples by other artists ("Summertime Blues," "Young Man Blues") help fill the bill. If Entwistle had an additional half-hour or so, he could have played some rich material from his solo work, though he does make time for "Horror Rock," co-written with pal and Entwistle Band co-founder/drummer Steve Luongo. The results are just fine: the British Invasion legend looks happy, guitarist Godfrey Townshend (no relation) does a credible Daltrey impersonation, and Luongo turns this disc into a tribute (complete with a touching eulogy) to his friend

01. The Horror Rock
02. The Real Me
03. Had Enough
04. Success Story
05. Trick of The Light
06. Shakin' All Over
07. Summertime Blues
08. Young Man Blues

John Entwistle - Bass & Vocals
Godfrey Townsend - Guitar & Vocals
Steve Luongo - Drums & Vocals
Gordon Cotton - Keyboard & Background Vocals

+@320 MP3 audio

terça-feira, 4 de setembro de 2018

VA - Two Rooms - Celebrating The Songs of Elton John And Bernie Taupin

VA - Two Rooms - Celebrating The Songs of Elton John And Bernie Taupin - 1991

from AMG
Two Rooms is a wildly uneven star-studded tribute to a wildly uneven superstar songwriting team. Though Elton John and Bernie Taupin wrote many of the best pop songs of the '70s and '80s, they have written more than their fair share of clunkers as well. Some of them were chosen for this collection. Tina Turner, for example, tackles the ludicrously juvenile "The Bitch Is Back" and somehow manages to make it even worse. Daryl Hall and John Oates don't fare any better with the embarrassingly outdated disco anthem "Philadelphia Freedom." But most of the songs on Two Rooms are drawn from Elton and Bernie's A-list and some of them really illustrate the depth of their songwriting abilities. Sinéad O'Connor finds the tortured soul of the 1989 divorce song "Sacrifice" in a way that the original recording never did. George Michael's radiant tenor lights a fire under "Tonight," another song about a disintegrating relationship. Sting gives the album's most memorable performance, bringing haunted melancholy to the seldom heard "Come Down in Time." Unfortunately, many of the artists are not that sensitive to their chosen songs. Wilson Phillips makes a chipper dentist's office ballad out of the heart-rending elegy "Daniel," while Jon Bon Jovi brings unwanted screech rock bluster to "Levon" and Rod Stewart turns the gentle, charming sap of "Your Song" into noxious, gooey sap. The record succeeds in conveying the enormous influence and productivity of the collaboration between John and Taupin. But it sometimes makes you think they've been just a bit too prolific and that their influence might not always be a good one.

01. Border Song - Eric Clapton
02. Rocket Man (I Think It's Going To Be A Long, Long Time) - Kate Bush
03. Come Down In Time - Sting
04. Saturday Night's Alright (For Fighting) - The Who
05. Crocodile Rock - Beach Boys
06. Daniel - Wilson Phillips
07. Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word - Joe Cocker
08. Levon - Jon Bon Jovi
09. The Bitch Is Back - Tina Turner
10. Philadelphia Freedom - Daryl Hall And John Oates
11. Your Song - Rod Stewart
12. Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Me - Oleta Adams
13. Madman Across The Water - Bruce Hornsby
14. Sacrifice - Sinead O'Connor
15. Burn Down The Mission - Phil Collins
16. Tonight - George Michael