quarta-feira, 30 de janeiro de 2019

Lee Harvey Osmond - Mohawk

Lee Harvey Osmond - Mohawk - 2019

by Kerry Doole
When the prolific Tom Wilson (Junkhouse, Blackie and the Rodeo Kings) launched Lee Harvey Osmond as a solo project with A Quiet Evil in 2008, few could have predicted LHO would still be going strong a decade later.

They have yet to achieve the wider profile of those other outfits, but Mohawk, the fourth Lee Harvey Osmond record, confirms there's still plenty of pleasure to be gained from Wilson's bluesy and psychedelic takes on roots music. It is rather a misnomer to call LHO a solo venture, as Wilson has again surrounded himself with an A-list cast of Canadian peers, including his BARK rhythm section of Gary Craig and John Dymond, bassist Anna Ruddick, guitarists Bill Dillon and Aaron Goldstein, horn player Darcy Hepner, keyboardist Jesse O'Brien harmonica player Paul Reddick, and son Thompson Wilson, who co-wrote two songs here. The harmony vocals of Oh Susanna add texture and light to such tunes as "Whole Damn World" and "What I Loved About You."


01. Colours
02. Forty Light Years
03. BAM
04. Kingdom Come
05. Whole Damn World
06. Magic
07. Mohawk
08. Burn Of Love
09. A Common Disaster
10. What I Loved About You


sábado, 26 de janeiro de 2019

Glen Matlock ‎– Good To Go

Glen Matlock ‎– Good To Go - 2018

Former Sex Pistol Glen Matlock recruited old friends Earl Slick and Slim Jim Phantom for his solo album Good to Go,

“It’s a very simple kind of album,” Matlock told Rolling Stone in a new interview. “You could call it ‘loud skiffle.’ I was inspired to make it after seeing Bob Dylan at the Royal Albert Hall a few years back. I’m no big fan of his, [but] the band was fantastic. I said to myself, ‘I want to do something like that.'”

In a press release, Matlock explained how Slick had brought a feel to the track “Speak Too Soon” that he believed Bowie would have been proud of. “It’s quite a departure for me. The basic chord structure is like ‘Spanish Harlem’ or ‘Stand by Me,’ juxtaposed with Earl’s Ebow guitar which is like something from Bowie’s ‘Heroes.’ The sustained sound in the background behind the guitar riff was Earl; it’s pretty off the wall. I said let’s go with it and he built it up.”

Matlock added that “it’s well known I like the Faces and a bit of Bob Dylan, and it’s all incorporated in there somewhere. What changes is the lyric. In the words of [John] Lennon, I’m writing for the kids that have grown up with me. ... When it comes to music, I like some actual music in the music. … It’s quite personal, but there are some tongue-in-cheek funny bits in it. I didn’t set out to write a Sex Pistols album and fail miserably.”

01. Won't Put The Brakes On Me
02. Wanderlust
03. Sexy Beast
04. Speak Too Soon
05. Piece Of Work
06. Hook In You
07. Montague Terrace (In Blue)
08. Cloud Cuckoo Land
09. Strange Kinda Taste
10. Chill
11. Couldn't Give A Damn
12. Keep On Pushing


terça-feira, 22 de janeiro de 2019

Climax Blues Band - Hands Of Time

Climax Blues Band - Hands Of Time - 2019

Hands of Time is the 21st album by Climax Blues Band, consisting of 13 new original songs, plus a bonus unreleased track ‘Getting There’ with the late Colin Cooper. It was recorded at Silk Mill Studios in Staffordshire, UK and is a mixture of bluesy funk, soul and jazz rock, all of the ingredients that have kept the band working for over 50 years.

The album has a fresher more modern feel to it than on previous releases and is being well received by the industry. You can hear a selection of the new songs played live by the band when they embark on their major UK & European tour staring in 2019 to promote the album’s release.

01. Ain’t That a Kick in the Head
02. Straight Down the Middle
03. What’s Your Name
04. Flood of Emotion
05. Top of the World
06. My Music
07. 17th Street Canal
08. Simple Song
09. The Cat
10. Hands of Time
11. Faith
12. Hard Luck
13. Wrong Time
14. Getting There (Bonus - Featuring Colin Cooper: Vocals & Sax)

George Glover - Keyboards
Lester Hunt - Guitar
Neil Simpson - Bass Guitar
Roy Adams - Drums
Graham Dee - Vocal
Chris Aldridge - Saxes


sexta-feira, 11 de janeiro de 2019

Davey Pattison- Pictures

Davey Pattison- Pictures - 2003

Davey Pattison is from Glasgow, Scotland and sings in the tradition of the great Scottish blues singers. He was formerly the lead singer with GAMMA (Ronnie Montrose) and ROBIN TROWER. This is his 2nd solo cd (his first is "Mississippi Nights"), and he has two currently out with Trower too. Davey has appeared on many cds with various artists such as Michael Schenker (UFO, Scorpions, MSG), Leslie West, Pete Sears, and blues legends such as John Lee Hooker

01. Waiting As Fast As I Can
02. Married To The Blues
03. Gypsy Woman's Got The Blues
04. Judas
05. I'm The Only (For Valerie)
06. John Lee, Jimmy Reed And Mississippi Fred
07. Pictures
08. Born To The House Of Blues
09. Wish
10. Just Who You Are
11. Mr. Henpecked
12. Blues At My Window
13. Hollywood
14. Wild Mountain Thyme (For Nell)


quinta-feira, 3 de janeiro de 2019

Terry Taylor - Taylor Made

Terry Taylor - Taylor Made - 2013

Terry began his musical career in the mid 1960s, eventually joining The End in late 1960s, a band that was produced at the time by Rolling Stone Bill Wyman. The association with Bill continued as the band later reformed as Tucky Buzzard, releasing five albums before their demise in 1973.

He worked with Bill Wyman on the solo album Stone Alone, and both played on a live album and video with Muddy Waters, Buddy Guy and Junior Well’s at the Montreux Blues festival. In the 1980s,he signed to Bill Wyman’s company Ripple Music as a writer, working with him on his album ‘Bill Wyman’ (which featured the hit ‘Je Suis Un Rock Star’).

He also worked on film music, notably ‘Green Ice’ starring Ryan O’Neal and Omar Sharif. In the mid 1990s he started recording and touring with The Rhythm Kings, performing alongside numerous featured star guests, including Eddie Floyd, Gary US Bonds, Mary Wilson, Dennis Locorriere, Gary Brooker, Peter Frampton, Georgie Fame and Albert Lee.

Maria Muldaur was the special guest on the Autumn 2013 tour. As a backing musician Terry has also worked with Mark Knopfler, Eric Clapton, Peter Green, Scotty Moore, Robin Gibb, Lulu, Mel C, Donovan and Paul Carrack.

01. Fast Train
02. Soul Deep
03. Papa Ain't Salty
04. Just My Imagination
05. Summer Wind
06. Stuck on You
07. Losing You
08. I Can't Be Satisfied
09. Make You Feel My Love
10. Rollin'