sábado, 30 de junho de 2018

Fast Eddie Clarke - Make My Day Back to Blues

Fast Eddie Clarke  - Make My Day Back to Blues - 2014

The blistering guitarist for Motörhead between 1976 and 1982, Fast Eddie Clarke appeared and helped write dozens of the band's classics: "Ace of Spades," "Iron Fist," "Bomber," "Stone Dead Forever," and "Overkill." Formerly in the bands Blue Goose and Continuous Performance, Clarke joined Motörhead for its first (released) album, 1977's Motörhead. Clarke performed on the band's best-selling albums (Bomber, Overkill, Ace of Spades, No Sleep 'Til Hammersmith), but left during the tour for 1982's Iron Fist due to a deteriorating relationship with Motörhead frontman Lemmy. Clarke then formed the hard rock quintet Fastway, which recorded for Columbia throughout the rest of the 1980s. Clarke's solo debut, It Ain't Over Till It's Over, appeared in 1994, and Make My Day: Back to Blues appeared 20 years later in 2014. Fast Eddie Clarke died in London in January 2018 at the age of 67

01.Nothing Left
02.Mountains To The Sea
03.Make My Day
04.Heavy Load
05.Fast Train
06.Walking Too Slow
07.Haven't Got The Time
08.One Way
09.My New Life
10.Ethereal Blue


quinta-feira, 28 de junho de 2018

Vinnie Colaiuta, Robben Ford & Jimmy Haslip - Jing Chi

Vinnie Colaiuta, Robben Ford & Jimmy Haslip - Jing Chi - 2002

from AMG
No, this isn't a sister project to Wang Chung, it's actually a blistering and very trippy jazz fusion blast by three old vets who've been shedding over the years in Robben Ford's band. The cover of the disc features psychedelic art and the trio's names -- drummer Vinnie Colaiuta, guitarist Ford, and bassist Jimmy Haslip -- in alphabetical order so that listeners don't mistake any one of them for the leader. It's just an intense ensemble disc that draws from feisty blues-rock (dig the blistering free-for-all opener, "The Hong Kong Incident") to cooler atmospheric experiments (the seductive, laid-back "Stan Key.") There are a lot of influences from '60s rock, cult music, Miles Davis' Bitches Brew, down-home funky Delta blues, and a little James Brown kickin' soul as well. The wah-wah-driven, floating atmospheres of "Tengoku" lets listeners know that while these cats can blow heavy, they're happy at times just to kick back and get deep into nostalgia. Ford's balance of intense playing and strong melodicism is effective in keeping people who like good songwriting in the loop at times when it would be just as easy to just jam and forget about any structure. He also adds a decent vocal to "Going Nowhere," which is anchored in Haslip's hypnotic lines. Less effective is Haslip's robotic attempt to be like Sting on the vocal part of the all-atmospheric "In My Dream." That tune is the only real drawback to a very inventive disc of so many moods and such powerful playing.

01. The Hong Kong Incident
02. Stan Key
03. Tengoku
04. Crazy House
05. Going Nowhere
06. Go Figure
07. Man in the Ring
08. In My Dream
09. Train Song


sexta-feira, 22 de junho de 2018

Micky Moody & Paul Williams - Smokestacks, Broom Dusters & Hootchie Coochie Men

Micky Moody & Paul Williams - Smokestacks, Broom Dusters & Hootchie Coochie Men - 2002

Guitarist Micky Moody needs little introduction. He first came to prominence in the early seventies as the youngest member, of the highly acclaimed, Juicy Lucy. Afterwards, he co-founded Snafu and enjoyed similar success. A telephone call from Deep Purple’s David Coverdale resulted in a performer or writing partnership on the superstar’s two solo LP’s. This led to the formation of Whitesnake, and yes the rest really is history.

Micky’s first solo album I Eat Them For Breakfast was released by Armadillo Music in 2000, following this his collaboration with ex-Juicy Lucy member Paul Williams came about in 2002 Smokestacks, Broom Dusters & Hoochie Coochie Men.

Paul’s phenomenal vocal style was nurtured during the great blues boom of the sixties working alongside Alexis Korner, Zoot Money and John Mayall, before joining Micky in Juicy Lucy.

Smokestacks, Broom Dusters & Hoochie Coochie Men is their 16 track celebration of the music of Elmore James, Muddy Waters and Howling Wolf.

01. Look On Yonder's Wall
02. Down In The Bottom
03. Who's Been Talkin'
04. I'm Ready
05. Honey Bee
06. Dust Me Broom
07. Down On Maxwell Street
08. Built For Comfort
09. It Hurts Me Too
10. Baby Please Don't Go
11. Little Red Rooster
12. Shake Your Moneymaker
13. I Can't Be Satisfied
14. Mississippi Lightning
15. Done Somebody Wrong
16. Shake For Me


quinta-feira, 14 de junho de 2018

Gail Ann Dorsey - I Used To Be

Gail Ann Dorsey - I Used To Be - 2004

Over the past twenty years Gail Ann Dorsey has established herself as a top session and touring bassist and vocalist, becoming widely recognized through her work with Tears for Fears, Bryan Ferry, The Indigo Girls and most recently her nearly ten year musical partnership with David Bowie. She was recruited by Bowie for his 1995 Outside Tour with Nine Inch Nails and has been lending her bass and voice live and on record ever since, highlights including her powerful duets with Bowie on "Under Pressure" and "Planet of Dreams" as well as the groups performance of "Heroes" which opened "The Concert for New York" held at Madison Square Garden.
01. Nether Land
02. This Time (Barely Alive)
03. Magical
04. Take Me To Your Love
05. The Fool
06. Be My Angel
07. Whether You Are The One
08. The Big Decision
09. Always True
10. Philadelphia


sábado, 2 de junho de 2018

Roger Daltrey - As Long As I Have You

Roger Daltrey - As Long As I Have You - 2018

As Long as I Have You includes covers of songs written by Stephen Stills ("How Far"), Stevie Wonder ("You Haven't Done Nothing"), Nick Cave ("Into My Arms") and Garnet Mimms (the title track). Daltrey also wrote some of the songs, notably "Certified Rose" and "Always Heading Home."

For the singer, it's a return to his roots mixed with the wisdom that can only come with age. "This is a return to the very beginning, to the time before Pete [Townshend] started writing our songs to a time when we were a teenage band playing soul music to small crowds in church halls," Daltrey said in a statement.

"That’s what we were, a soul band," he continued. "And now, I can sing soul with all the experience you need to sing it. Life puts the soul in. I’ve always sung from the heart but when you’re 19, you haven’t had the life experience with all its emotional trials and traumas that you have by the time you get to my age. You carry all the emotional bruises of life and when you sing these songs, those emotions are in your voice. You feel the pain of a lost love. You feel it and you sing it and that’s soul. For a long time, I’ve wanted to return to the simplicity of these songs, to show people my voice, a voice they won’t have heard before. It felt like the right time. It’s where I am, looking back to that time, looking across all those years but also being here, now, in the soulful moment”

Daltrey worked with a band that includes former Style Council keyboardist Mick Talbot and Sean Genockey on lead guitar. Townshend contributed guitar on seven tracks, and noted that the record “shows Roger at the height of his powers as a vocalist.”

01. As Long as I Have You
02. How Far
03. Where Is a Man to Go?
04. Get on Out of the Rain
05. I’ve Got Your Love
06. Into My Arms
07. You Haven’t Done Nothing
08. Out of Sight, Out of Mind
09. Certified Rose
10. The Love You Save
11. Always Heading Home