segunda-feira, 7 de setembro de 2015

Matthew Sweet and Susanna Hoffs - Under The Covers Volume 1

Matthew Sweet and Susanna Hoffs - Under The Covers Volume 1 - 2006

Under the Covers, Vol. 1 is the first collaboration between alternative rock artist Matthew Sweet and Bangles singer Susanna Hoffs. Released by Shout! Factory in 2006, the album contains 15 cover versions of favorite songs from the 1960s and 1970s. The album was a result of their mutual love for songwriting from the 1960s. Matthew Sweet and Susanna Hoffs decided to record an album together in dedication of that era consisting of only cover versions.

They have always displayed an unapologetic love of '60s pop in their own music, and they even teamed up as part of the pop supergroup Ming Tea to record the terrific "BBC" for the first Austin Powers film, so the duo's 2006 album, Under the Covers, Vol. 1, feels logical and right. With this record, the two -- who have adopted the name "Sid N Susie," although this only appears on the inside of the CD's booklet and on their MySpace page -- tackle 15 classic pop and folk-rock tunes from the '60s (well, the Bee Gees' "Run to Me" is from 1971, but its heart is in the '60s). Their selections, a mix of familiar oldies and beloved cult classics, display exceptionally good taste

01. I See The Rain (The Marmalade)
02. And Your Bird Can Sing (The Beatles)
03. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue (Bob Dylan)
04. Who Knows Where The Time Goes? (Fairport Convention)
05. Cinnamon Girl (Neil Young And Crazy Horse)
06. Alone Again Or (Love)
07. The Warmth Of The Sun (The Beach Boys)
08. Different Drum (Stone Poneys Featuring Linda Ronstadt)
09. The Kids Are Alright (The Who)
10. Sunday Morning (The Velvet Underground)
11. Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere (Neil Young And Crazy Horse)
12. Care Of Cell #44 (The Zombies)
13. Monday, Monday (The Mamas & The Papas)
14. She May Call You Up Tonight (The Left Banke)
15. Run To Me (Bee Gees)

Matthew Sweet & Susanna Hoffs - Vocals, Guitar
Ric Menck - Drums, Percusion
Michael Sweet - Bass, Guitar (Acoustic & Electric), Mellotron, Organ, Piano, Percussion
Ivan Julian - Guitar (Acoustic & Electric)
Greg Leisz - Guitar, Pedal steel guitar, 12 string guitar
Richard Lloyd - Guitar
Van Dyke Parks - Piano, Harpsichord, Organ


NOTE: Vol. 2 is even BETTER than the first!

Nenhum comentário :