segunda-feira, 1 de janeiro de 2018

Chris Wood - Evening Blue

Chris Wood - Evening Blue - 2017

Perhaps best known for co-founding Traffic with Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi and Dave Mason, Chris Wood was self taught on Saxophone and Flute although he was also an accomplished keyboards player and bass guitarist too. And a fine artist as well; from Stourbridge College of Art, Chris was accepted by the Royal Academy in 1965 where he ultimately faced the choice – music or art.

Via The Steve Hadley Quartet, he moved on to other Midlands-based bands – Shades Of Blue which included pianist Christine Perfect (later McVie of Fleetwood Mac) and then Locomotive with Mike Kellie (Spooky Tooth). Knowing Steve Winwood from The Elbow Room in Birmingham as well as through his sister Steph who designed clothes for The Spencer Davis Group led, eventually, to the formation of Traffic which evolved from out of hours jam-sessions at The Elbow Room.

Traffic decamped to an isolated farmhouse (The Cottage) on the Berkshire Downs. Success came with their first single (Paper Sun) with their first album (Mr Fantasy) being issued in December 1967. The group split after releasing their second album with Winwood joining Eric Clapton in Blind Faith. Wood and Capaldi reunited with Dave Mason to form the short-lived Mason Capaldi Wood and Frog before Chris left for America where he joined Dr John and toured the US. On his return to Britain, along with Winwood, he joined the first version of Ginger Baker’s Airforce, playing two gigs and releasing one album. After which Traffic – as a three piece – reformed.

Chris introduced the traditional ballad John Barleycorn to Capaldi and Winwood and it became not only the title song to Traffic’s next LP but a lynchpin of their concerts for the remainder of the group’s life.

Close friends with Jimi Hendrix, Wood played on his Electric Ladyland album as well as contributing to records by Free, Fat Mattress, Sky, Noel Redding, Third World, John Martyn, Gordon Jackson, Crawler, Jim Capaldi, Rebop Kwaku Baah, Bobby Whitlock and many others.

He met his wife via Hendrix (she was part of Jimi’s inner circle) – Chris and Jeanette Jacobs were married in November 1972 at Kensington Registry Office in London.

Traffic folded after the release of the When The Eagle Flies LP in 1974. In the years that followed, Chris took tentative steps toward recording his own LP but, plagued by addiction and his wife’s serial infidelity while progress was made, it was slow. Eventually, an album was completed and sequenced in October 1978 but, for reasons which remain unknown, Island chose not to issue it. In the mid-80s the 1/4″ masters disappeared and remained missing until 2013.

Jeanette (from whom he was now separated) died of a seizure on New Year’s Day 1980 – she was 30. Chris was affected by her death as deeply as he was by Jimi’s passing as well as other close friends like Paul Kossoff and his erstwhile band-mate Rebop Kwaku Baah.

Never to completely shake his dependencies, Chris Wood died in Birmingham’s Queen Elizabeth Hospital on the morning of July 12, 1983. Three weeks earlier, he had turned 39.

Traffic’s Far from Home LP, issued in 1994, was dedicated to Chris – the front cover shows a solitary stick-figure playing a flute.

Traffic was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame on March 15, 2004. In Jim Capaldi’s acceptance speech he said: Chris Wood was the magic man in Traffic. He was the one who came up with John Barleycorn. We sadly miss Chris. Traffic foreve.

CD 1
01. Song For Pete
02. See No Man Girl
03. Letter One
04. Barbed Wire
05. Don't It
06. Jam In Butter
07. Moon Child Vulcan
08. Tone Blind Rhythm Deaf
09. Birth In A Day
10. No 4 B Side
11. Barbed Wire (Take 3 Alt R Mix)
12. Birth In A Day (Take 3 CW Mix)
13. Song For Pete (Studio Rehearsal Take 2)
14. See No Man Floral Dance

CD 2
01. Piano #1 - Chris Wood
02. Love - Traffic
03. Outside In (Album Version) - John Martin
04. Come Here Sweet Man - Martha Velez
05. Flutered - Chris Wood
06. Early in the Morning (Live at The Royal Albert Hall) - Airforce
07. Song For Freedom - Gordon Jackson
08. Automatic Reggae - Tyrone Downie
09. Sullen Moon (Band Recording #1) - Cris Wood
10. Zagapam - Rebop Kwaku Baah
11. Jam 1 - Mason, Capaldi, Wood & Frog
12. There In The Greenbriar - Sky
13. Diggin' On You (Home Demo) - Dr. John, Jeanette Jacobs & Chris Wood
14. Just For You - Dave Mason
15. The Fame Groove - Chris Wood
16. Lamb - Chris Wood and Stuar Carr
17. No Time To Live - Traffic

CD 3
01. Piano #2 - Chris Wood
02. On A Theme Of... - Mason, Capaldi, Wood & Frog
03. Steph's Tune - Tyrone Downie
04. 40.000 Headman - Traffic
05. So Much In Love With You (Album Version) - john Martyn
06. Cinnamon Girl (First Run Through) - Spiteri & Chris Wood
07. Tragic Magic - Traffic
08. Polo No 1 (Sketch) - Chris Wood
09. Game Called Life - Bobby Whitlock
10. Snakes And Ladders - Gordon Jackson
11. Out Of Tune With The Universe - Dr. John, Jeanette Jacobs & Chris Wood
12. Meteorites - Remi Kabaka
13. Ley It Up - Chris Wood & Vinden Wylde
14. Sold On Down The Line - Crawler
15. Waiting On You (Live At The BBC / 1969) - Mason, Capaldi, Wood & Frog
16. For Rfk Jfk & Mlk - Shawn Phillips
17. Sullen Moon (Demo) - Chris Wood
18. John Barleycorn - Traffic
19. Zola - Chris Wood

CD 4
01. Piano #3 - Chris Wood
02. What To Look For - Chris Wood & Maps
03. Vulcan (The Aurora Collaboration) Chris Wood & Spiteri
04. Coloured Rain (Mono Version) - Traffic
05. Sing To Me Woman - Gordon Jackson
06. Dealer (Album Version) - Traffic
07. Barbed Wire (Take 2 Alt - W mix)
08. Mourning Sad Morning - Free
09. Evening Blue - Traffic
10. Feelin' Alright? (Live At The BBC) - Mason, Capaldi, Wood & Frog
11. All Black Festival - Remi Kabaka
12. Three Hours (Alternate Version) - Nick Drake
13. Steph's Dub - Tyrone Downie
14. Spring Too (Live) - Chris Wiid & Stuart Carr
15. Rainmaker - Traffic
16. Seagull - Jim Capaldi
17. Sylvanae - Chris Wood


16 comentários :

KDNYfm disse...

Thank You very much for the opportunity to hear this collection...a long time fan of Traffic (ever since I first heard Hole In My Shoe on my transistor radio).

Anônimo disse...

please reup maybe on zippy oh plaese and thanx from Texas

Only Good Song disse...

My channel's video and this blog have taken Strike from a woman who claims to be the rights owner (but possibly not even born when they created these songs).

If I make a repost now and banish again, I lose 8 years of work.

I'll do it, but not now. I ask patiente

Anônimo disse...

HiddenMasters Ltd - who represent the Chris Wood Estate - are the copyright holders and publishers of the music you posted up to YouTube. You are not .

Only Good Song disse...

bla bla bla bla bla
bla bla bla bla bla
bla bla bla bla bla

Gregory C Adams disse...

Any resolution yet? I am really eager to hear these songs. Some news perhaps if an official release is forthcoming or is she just full of wind?

Only Good Song disse...
Este comentário foi removido pelo autor.
Only Good Song disse...

Leave your email (not will published) and I send a copy for you)

diegoncio disse...

is it possible to receive this gems??

Only Good Song disse...


send to where?

Blues679 disse...

I'd love to hear this. Such a shame you can't share it.

Blues679 disse...

Shame that this had to be removed. I would liked to have heard it. Great blog. Keep up the good work.

Only Good Song disse...


Leave your email (not will published) and I send a copy for you)

Paulo Vitor Grossi disse...

Can you send to me, please? Its

gman disse...

Never mind!

gman disse...

If you could send it without posting in comments fine. Otherwise no thanks.