quarta-feira, 18 de maio de 2016

William Souffreau & The Moonlovers - William Souffreau & The Moonlovers

William Souffreau & The Moonlovers  - William Souffreau & The Moonlovers  - 2008

William Souffreau is one of Belgium's great rock pioneers. He has been playing music for more than five decades now. 

William was born on the 14th of April 1946, in Erembodegem, under a Belgian moon. He jumped into the music scene in the early sixties with the rock 'n' roll band The Blue Jets. At that time William wrote his first song, 'Feel so Lonely', which was later recorded on the album ‘Shake It’ (2002) by Blink It. Around 1963 William played with The Mings. His first recordings date from 1966, with The Four Rockets. Near the end of the 60s The Four Rockets became the more psychedelic rockband Dementia Praecox.

In 1970 William was elected number one rock singer of Belgium. Earlier that year he had founded the band The Voodoo, which soon became Irish Coffee. This rock band was a large success in many countries. Irish Coffee recorded one album and four singles (including the hit single 'Masterpiece'), all collector's items now. The band played many concerts and did numerous TV and radio shows. Irish Coffee was a support act for Uriah Heep, Chicken Shack and Golden Earring, among others. In 1974 the Irish Coffee story came to an end.

Two years later William established Joystick, with a funky horn section and great musicians such as Tony Boast. They were support act for Motörhead among others. They never made an album, but a few of the Joystick songs were recorded on the Irish Coffee reunion album (2004).  

01. Stick To Your Music
02. Where Have You Been Last Night
03. Everybody Says
04. Doesn't Bother Me
05. Almost
06. I Want Your Love Right Here
07. Under A Moonlit Sky
08. For You
09. Summerplace
10. You Have Made Me Feel So Happy Again
11. Keep Your Head Cool
12. Dancing On His Tomb
13. Music Maker
14. Like Kerouac

William Souffreau - Vocals, Guitars
Jan Blieck - Lead Guitar
Dieter De Mits - Bass
Gino Campenaerts - Drums
+ Guest 
Kloot Per W - Guitar
Jan Oelbrandt - Dobro, Pedal Steel
Bas Bulteel - Piano



Nenhum comentário :