sexta-feira, 3 de outubro de 2014

John Henry Kurtz - Reunion

John Henry Kurtz - Reunion - 1972

John Henry Kurtz’ “Reunion” album was actually a union of some of the west coast’s best session players,including Larry Knechtel, Ben Beney, Don Randi, Ray Pohlman, Jim Horn and Jim Gordon. etc. Also appearing on this record are Kenny Loggins, (pushing his “Danny’s Song” and some background vocals), Michael Omartian, Doug Dillard, and two members of Steely Dan, Jeff “Skunk” Baxter and Jim Hodder (though they don’t appear together, Baxter plays pedal steel on “Brand New Tennessee Waltz” and the fade on “Songbird” and Hodder drums on “Light Shine”, they must of been hanging ‘round the studio after their “Can’t Buy A Thrill” lp) The album was well produced by Steve Barri (who also adds percussion on some cuts) and as expected by the musicians involved, features a well polished sound.

Best known for his multi-talented voice on Broadway and TV, actor John Henry Kurtz,  was the announcer and voice of NBC Nightly News, Court TV, numerous commercials and several other shows. He guested on four episodes of Nick, Jr.’s Little Bill. He was a baseball announcer in 2002's Baseball Glovers and Number One On Honeywood Street, and a TV news announcer in Snow Racer and Summertime In The Wintertime (both 2004).

Kurtz was an actor on Broadway and on television, portraying Mr. Poppy on three 1994 episodes of The Cosby Mysteries. He also guested on H.E.L.P., Law & Order and 100 Centre Street. Kurtz was a former Wildwood and Wildwood Crest Life Guard. In recent years ,he enjoyed walking the beaches of Cape May and talking with the numerous friends on the Cape May Beach Patrol.

01. Drift Away
02. Songbird
03. Rock And Roll Love Song For Rosie
04. Danny’s Song
05. Light Shine
06. Get On The Right Road
07. Brand New Tennessee Waltz
08. It Never Hurts To Be Nice To Somebody
09. You Give Me Something Good To Think About
10.  Everything Has Got To Be Free



Nenhum comentário :