domingo, 9 de fevereiro de 2014

Frank Miller - Live At Rockpalast - 2013

Frank Miller - Live At Rockpalast - 2013

Blue-eyed soul singer Frankie Miller made his name on the English pub rock circuit of the early '70s, and spent around a decade and a half cutting albums of traditional R&B, rock & roll, and country-rock. In addition to his recorded legacy as an avatar of American roots music, his original material was covered by artists from the worlds of rock, blues, and country, from Bob Seger and Bonnie Tyler to Lou Ann Barton and the Bellamy Brothers. And Miller himself scored a surprise U.K. Top Ten smash in 1978 with "Darlin'," giving his likable, soulful style the popular airing many fans felt it deserved all along. 

Frankie Miller was born November 2, 1949, in Glasgow, Scotland; he began singing with local bands beginning in 1967, in a style influenced by American soul singers like Sam Cooke, Ray Charles, and Otis Redding. After a few years, he moved to the more fertile music scene in London, where he soon met ex-Procol Harum guitarist Robin Trower in the summer of 1971. Impressed with Miller's talents as a raw soul belter in the vein of a Rod Stewart or Joe Cocker, Trower offered him a job as lead vocalist of his new band Jude. It wasn't to be Miller's big break, though; internal conflicts split the group apart by the following year, and Miller returned to the London pub rock circuit. During 1972, he made frequent appearances at the Tally Ho in Kentish Town, often sitting in with Brinsley Schwarz, and signed a solo record deal with Chrysalis. 

Using the Brinsleys as a backing band, Miller recorded his debut album, Once in a Blue Moon, that year. Though it wasn't a hit, it was reviewed respectably; more importantly, when Miller sent a copy to New Orleans R&B legend Allen Toussaint, he was impressed enough to produce Miller's next album. Miller traveled to New Orleans in 1973 to record High Life with an authentic Toussaint-led backing band, resulting in one of his most acclaimed and artistically satisfying albums. Upon returning to England, Miller assembled a Stax-style backing band -- dubbed simply the Frankie Miller Band -- featuring guitarist Henry McCullough, keyboardist Mick Weaver, bassist Chrissy Stewart, and drummer Stu Perry. 

This group traveled to San Francisco to record The Rock (named after Alcatraz), which was released in 1975. The band dissolved not long after, and Miller put together a new outfit called Full House, featuring guitarist Ray Minhinnett, keyboardist Jim Hall, bassist Charlie Harrison, and drummer Graham Deacon. They issued the aptly titled Full House in 1977, which, oddly enough, became fairly popular in Sweden. However, once again, Miller's backing band imploded, and he was back on his own for 1978's Double Trouble, which produced his first British Top 30 hit in "Be Good to Yourself." Late that year, Miller scored a runaway Top Ten hit in the U.K. with "Darlin'," a single included on his 1979 LP Falling in Love (aka Perfect Fit). (Typical of Miller's luck in the record business, his best-known song wasn't an original.) 1980's Easy Money was recorded in Nashville, and some of 1982's Standing on the Edge was recorded at Alabama's legendary Muscle Shoals Sound Studios. During this period, Miller also had a Scottish hit with his cover of Dougie McLean's "Caledonia." 1986's Dancing in the Rain was his final studio album. 

In August 1994, Miller suffered a devastating brain hemorrhage that left him in a coma for five months. Unable to walk or talk upon his emergence, Miller rehabilitated himself enough to begin writing songs again; at a late-'90s benefit concert in Edinburgh, Miller's new collaboration with Will Jennings, "The Sun Goes Up, the Sun Comes Down," was performed by Bonnie Tyler, Paul Carrack, and Jools Holland.

CD 01 -  Loreley, 28 august 1982                                                                               
01. Aint’t Got No Money
02. Zap Zap        
03. Be Good To Yourself
04. A Fool In Love
05. It’s All Coming Down Tonight
06. Angels With Dirty Faces
07. To Dream The Dream
08. Danger Danger
09. Standing On The Edge
10. The Jealous Kind
11. A Woman To Love 
12. Down The Honky Tonk        
13. Bad Case Of Loving You
14. Don’t Stop 
15. Let’s Spend The Night Together

Frankie Miller - Vocal, Guitar
Chrissie Stewart - Bass
Ed Dean - Guitar, Vocal
Mick Weaver - Keyborads, Vocal
Malcolm Mortimore - Drums

CD 02 - WDR-Studio Köln, 3 june 1976
01. Drunken Nights In The City
02. Brickyard Blues         
03. The Devil’s Gun
04. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry
05. Sail Away
06. The Rock
07. Down The Honky Tonk         
08. If You Need Me
09. A Fool In Love
10. Hand On The Lever
11. Ain’t Got No Money
12. I’m Old Enough

Frankie Miller - Guiar, Vocal
Graham Deakin - Drums
James Hall - Piano
Chrissie Stewart - Bass
Ray Minhinnit - Guitar

CD 03 - Maifestspiele Wiesbaden, 6 may 1979

01. Rockpalast Capture (Peter Rüchel)
02. A Fool In Love
03. Brickyard Blues
04. Papa Don’t Know
05. When I’m Away From You
06. A Woman To Love                  
07. Cold Turkey
08. Ann Elisabeth Jane
09. Fallin’ In Love
10. When Something Is Wrong With My Baby
11. Be Good To Yourself
12. Is This Love
13. Ain’t Got No Money - The Fire Down Below           
14. Down The Honky Tonk        
15. Little Queenie
16. Let’s Spend The Night Together

Band Unknown


2 comentários :

Musicômano disse...

Baixa muito rápido pelo Wuala. Quase 1mb/s, ou seja, a mesma velocidade do Mega. Uma boa alternativa, sem dúvida. Uma pena que só dá 5gb de armazenagem. Mas o negócio é abrir várias contas com vários e-mails. 10 contas são 50gb. Um abraço.

Only Good Song disse...

Eu o achei num blog qdo fui baixar algo nesse fim de semana.
O que me chamou a atenção foi o fato de q vc simplesmente baixa, sem captcha, time or adware.
Esses 5gb podem virar + alguns se vc fizer um convite e quem receber o convite starta com 6. Então é só uma conta convidar a outra e chegar a 100!
Vou soltar mais algumas coisas nele, que pra subir tb é rápidinho.
Valeu o comentario.