sábado, 26 de maio de 2018

Jon Hiseman - A Night In The Sun

Jon Hiseman - A Night In The Sun - 1981

Originally released only on vinyl, this album dates from 1981 and has never been previously released on CD. The original analogue tapes, recorded in, and rescued from, Rio de Janeiro in Brazil , were lost until recently. After a 4-hour baking in an oven to remove the accumulated moisture that had been attracted to the oxide binder, Jon Hiseman was able to transfer the tapes into the digital domain in pristine condition while they were, literally, still hot.

He flew out to Rio for 10 days in 1981, taking only a few cymbals and a snare drum, to meet some of Brazil’s finest musicians for the first time and play their music.  Since they had recorded mainly at night, while sleeping through the heat of the day, the album title had to be… “A Night in the Sun”!

01. Tropeiro
02. The Hearts Of Carnival
03. Sunroof
04. A Night In The Sun
05. Eunice
06. Makenna Beach
07. Walking On Air

Jon Hiseman - Drums
Marcio Montarroyos - Flugelhorn (2,4), Trumpet (1,3,6,7), Piano (3)
Sergio Dias - Acoustic Guitar (1,2,3,4,5)
Jamil Joanes - Bass
Ricardo Silveira - Guitar (6)
Robson Jorge - Guitar (4)
Victor Biglione - Guuitar (1)
Lincoln Olivetti - Keysboards (1,3,4,6,7)
Cidinho - Percussion (1,2,3,5,6,7)
Ariovaldo - Percussion (4)
Marcos Resende - Piano (2,5,6)
Leo Gandelman - Saxophone (1,2,3)
Sergio de Souza - Trombone (1,3,7)