sexta-feira, 10 de abril de 2015

The Alabama State Troupers - Road Show AND Live Troupers For The Lord

The Alabama State Troupers - Road Show - 1972

from Amazon
One of the great, lost, legendary live albums in '70s rock finally sees a legitimate, full-length release with Real Gone Music's deluxe, two-CD issue of The Alabama State Troupers: Road Show. The brainchild of Elektra president Jac Holzman and Memphis music legend Don Nix, the 'Troupers were supposed to be a traveling roadshow highlighting the talents of various Southern musicians who were signed to Elektra, most prominently Nix, singer Jeanie Greene (best known for her work with Elvis and at Muscle Shoals), and guitarist Lonnie Mack. Days before the tour, Mack quit, having had a self-described Biblical vision telling him not to go, so Nix found quite the replacement: legendary bluesman Furry Lewis, whose solo set takes up the first side of the double album. The rest of the record features Nix and Greene with what amounts to be the backup group of your Southern R&B wet dreams; dubbed the Mt. Zion Band and Choir, it featured such stellar talents as guitarists Wayne Perkins and Tippy Armstrong, vocalists Marlin Greene and Brenda Patterson, keyboardist Clayton Ivey, bassist Bob Wray and other Muscle Shoals sidemen. Recorded at two October 1971 California performances, Road Show is kind of like the American version of Joe Cocker s Mad Dogs and Englishmen tour, a rollicking, boisterous and most of all soulful blend of gospel, R&B and rock in which one can hear the nascent stirrings of what would come to be known as Southern rock a little later in the decade.

CD 1
01. Furry's Blues
02. Brownsville
03. I'm Black
04. A Chicken Ain't Nothin' but a Bird
05. Will the Circle Be Unbroken
06. Amos Burke
07. Mighty Time
08. Jesus on the Mainline
09. Mary Louise
10. Yes, I Do Understand

CD 2
01. Opening
02. Living in the Country
03. Joa-Bim
04. Dixie
05. Heavy Makes You Happy
06. Iuka
07. Asphalt Outlaw Hero
08. Olena
09. My Father's House
10. Going Down


The Alabama State Troupers - Live Troupers For The Lord - 2010

An other album only with GOSPEL SONGS from the Tour

01. Oh What A Mighty Time
02. Christian Cowboy
03. Jesus On The Mainline
04. I Been A Long Time Gone
05. Mary Louise
06. Living In The Country
07. Oh Yes I Do Understand
08. Let The Children Know
09. The Lord Be Right
10. My Train Done Come And Gone?
11. I Saw The Light



Posted First in Skydog's Elysium blog  

2 comentários :

Anônimo disse...

Thanks! This really brings back some very old memories with the classic "Going Down" covered by everyone after this; Jeff Beck, Moby Grape, etc.

Only Good Song disse...

old and good memories.