segunda-feira, 12 de agosto de 2019

Billylee Janey - Blues Power

Billylee Janey - Blues Power - 2019

Billylee recorded his first record in 1972 and another in 1973 which included “Pontiac Blues” by Sonny Boy Williamson. In 1975 he recorded a full-scale album titled No Rest for the Wicked with his Blues-Rock trio, Truth ‘N Janey. The album has achieved near cult status internationally. They would go on to record two more records. Besides Truth ‘N Janey,

Billylee has been in numerous other bands over the years, including the Driving Wheel Blues Band, Enoch Smokey, the Billylee Janey Group, Dennis McMurrin & the Demolition Band, The Janeys (a Ma/Pa/Son trio), as a featured special guest of The Blue Band, Blue Janey, Molly Nova & the Hawk, the Ernie Penniston Band, Billylee Janey’s Compact 3, and the Billylee Janey Band.

He has also had the occasion to perform with Blues luminaries Buddy Guy, Lil’ Ed & the Blues Imperials, Bo Diddley, Kenny Neal, and the Kinsey Report. He has shared stages at shows and fests with Savoy Brown, Johnny Winter, Johnny Copeland, Koko Taylor, Junior Wells, Lonnie Brooks, Eddy Clearwater, Tinsley Ellis, Joanna Conner, and John Mayall, and has toured with Leslie West. Just a few of the fests include Bellevue, Chicago Blues, Living History Farm, Keokuk Blues, Mississippi Valley, Iowa City Jazz, Sturgis Falls, and Bluesmore.

Janey was inducted into the Iowa Rock n Roll Association’s Hall of Fame for his work with Truth ‘N Janey, his recordings have been reviewed in Living Blues, Blues Revue, and Blues Access, and he has performed on Iowa Public Television. He has spent time both as a music promoter in the early ‘90s, and also as a stage hand working shows by Eric Clapton, Stevie Ray Vaughan, and George Thorogood. Janey has been teaching Blues guitar at West Music for the last 13 years.

He has recorded with Carol Thomas and also fellow Iowa Blues Hall of Fame inductees, Sam Salomone, Bob Dorr, and Patrick Hazell.

01. Who Let the Dog Out
02. Blues Alright
03. Gimme Some Blues Power
04. Good Time Charlie
05. Guitar Lightnin’
06. Damn Good
07. Superstar
08. Mary Had a Little Lamb
09. Hellbound Nite Rider
10. Sky Cryin’
11. Lion Song
12. Ghost Ridin’ the Whip
13. Mean Ol’ Twister


Nenhum comentário :