quinta-feira, 11 de agosto de 2016

Ron Flynt And The Bluehearts - L.A. Story

Ron Flynt And The Bluehearts - L.A. Story - 2004

from AMG
Ron Flynt's second solo album is a concept work of sorts based around the story of his former band, 20/20, though the concept wouldn't be too obvious if you weren't alerted beforehand (or weren't familiar with 20/20). In fact, with his respectably tuneful, mature power pop style, Flynt here sounds more like a minor Elvis Costello than a Pete Townshend wrestling with his band's history à la Quadrophenia. Whether or not you pay attention to the nominal framework, the songs explore territory common to many such power pop bands with roots in both '60s rock and new wave: falling for and getting out of the clutches of seductive, dangerous women; chasing dreams; the superficiality of showbiz glitz; traveling a road to nowhere; and the redemptive power of love. However, there's a touch of resignation here, and acknowledgement that things don't always turn out as planned, that isn't found in the more ebullient work of younger power pop bands -- like, say, 20/20 at the outset of their career. Musically, there's nothing here that hasn't been done before by the likes of 20/20 and other such groups. But it's an accomplished statement in that style, and die-hard fans may appreciate the slight lyrical spin on the form.

01. Intro
02. Waiting
03. Hollywood Life
04. 3rd Street Girl
05. The Sun's Gonna Shine
06. Southern Belle
07. Mary's World
08. Hurting You
09. 1000 Different Places
10. I Suppose
11. Misery At The End
12. Looking Down
13. Heaven
14. Home In A While


Nenhum comentário :