quarta-feira, 20 de agosto de 2014

William Souffreau - Those Precious Years

William Souffreau - Those Precious Years - 2010

William Souffreau is one of Belgium's great rock pioneers. He has been playing music for more than five decades now.

William was born on the 14th of April 1946, in Erembodegem, under a Belgian moon. He jumped into the music scene in the early sixties with the rock 'n' roll band The Blue Jets. At that time William wrote his first song, 'Feel so Lonely', which was later recorded on the album ‘Shake It’ (2002) by Blink It. Around 1963 William played with The Mings. His first recordings date from 1966, with The Four Rockets. Near the end of the 60s The Four Rockets became the more psychedelic rockband Dementia Praecox.

In 1970 William was elected number one rock singer of Belgium. Earlier that year he had founded the band The Voodoo, which soon became Irish Coffee. This rock band was a large success in many countries. Irish Coffee recorded one album and four singles (including the hit single 'Masterpiece'), all collector's items now. The band played many concerts and did numerous TV and radio shows. Irish Coffee was a support act for Uriah Heep, Chicken Shack and Golden Earring, among others. In 1974 the Irish Coffee story came to an end.

Two years later William established Joystick, with a funky horn section and great musicians such as Tony Boast. They were support act for Motörhead among others. They never made an album, but a few of the Joystick songs were recorded on the Irish Coffee reunion album (2004).

In the eighties William did many gigs with his coverband Oh Boy!. They had a great live reputation and a very underground playlist.

In 1990 he went solo as a singer-songwriter. Until this day he released more than ten albums. He worked together with many great musicians, such as Dave Peabody, Michael Chapman, Philip Catherine, Jo Bogaert and Jan De Wilde. He played on big stages and did support acts for The Kinks and 10cc.

In the late nineties William picked up his rock ’n’ roll years and started the rockabilly band Blink It. They released two swinging albums that were critically acclaimed. In those years William also recorded an album with a new formed Irish Coffee and new songs (2004). Irish Coffee II went to Bonn (Germany) to play 'Live on Rockpalast' (CD/LP/DVD). He also formed a brand new rock ’n’ roll band The Cochrans, together with Rik Vermeir and Kris van der Cammen. They played mostly songs from Eddie Cochran and other great fifties heroes.

Recently William recorded an album with The Moonlovers (2008). He is playing with Kloot Per W in Old School, doing covers from rare songs of the great rock music catalogue. He started the rock 'n' roll band The Rockabilly Rhythm Revue. With Irish Coffee III he plays his songs in a firm hardrock-blues mode, on his album 'Revisited' (LP, 2013). (You find HERE)

Those Precious Years, a 50 year anthology (The Four Rockets - Irish Coffee - Joystick - Oh Boy! - Blink It - WS.Solo - WS & The Moonlovers) in 21 of his own songs.

01. Those Precious Years
02. Where've You Been Last Night
03. Like Kerouac
04. Hope There's Time Left
05. There Ain't No Road Too Long
06. Beware
07. Black Cat
08. Little Town Girl
09. Highway To The Moon
10. Think I've Got Everything
11. Fool To Love
12. We All Must Get Together
13. Free
14. Love Life
15. Your Love
16. I'm Alive
17. The Beginning Or The End
18. The Show
19. Masterpiece
20. The Place Where She Lives
21. Feel So Lonely


2 comentários :

Unknown disse...

Ele é a alma da Irish Coffee. Muito bom, assim como a banda. Valeu novamente pelo direcionamento. Um abraço.

Only Good Song disse...

Eu tenho +1 dele, que não é uma antologia. É um solo de verdade, por assim dizer.