domingo, 20 de abril de 2014

The Rascals - Fillmore West


The Rascals - Fillmore West (San Francisco, CA) 20may1971

The Rascals were essentially just a backing band for vocalist/keyboardist Felix Cavaliere by the time this recording was made at the Fillmore West in May 1971. Although original drummer Dino Danelli remained, both guitarist Gene Cornish and vocalist Eddie Bragati were gone by the time A Peaceful World was cut, the album this tour was promoting.

After making some of the best American blue-eyed soul records of the 1960s, including "I Ain't Gonna Eat Out My Heart Anymore," "Good Lovin'," "It's A Beautiful Morning," "People Gotta Be Free" and "Groovin'," Cavaliere, by the turn of the decade, was determined to take the band in a more jazz and gospel inspired direction.

The group ended its long and fruitful association with Atlantic Records and producer Arif Mardin to work with Clive Davis and Columbia Records, where Cavaliere reshaped the lineup and set the band on its new musical course. Sadly, the fans failed to follow, as none of the material recorded after leaving Atlantic ever saw action in the charts.

Still, this is an important recording, offering a rare live look at this last version of The Rascals. Two female vocalists had been added, in addition to bassist Robert Popwell, who provides a thick, funky bottom end to these recordings. Most of the material is from the group's two, simultaneously released 1971 albums. Atlantic Records produced the original four-piece lineup's final recording, Search and Nearness, at the same time that Columbia was launching A Peaceful World.

Felix Cavaliere - Keyboards, Vocals
Dino Danelli - Drums
Buzzy Feiten & Danny Weiss - Guitar
Robert "Pops" Popwell - Bass
Bobby Matos - Congas

01. Right On
02. Love Me
03. Groovin'
04. Love Letter
05. Sky Trane
06. Little Dove
07. Getting Nearer
08. Superstar
09. Happy Song
10. People Got To Be Free
11. Mustang Sally


2 comentários :

KDNYfm disse...

Anything by Felix Cavaliere has to be checked out, especially with Buzzy Feiten and Danney Wies on guitars...thanx for this one!

Only Good Song disse...

Check it and discover other great job, although this is a bootleg

The female voices are by Annie Sutton and Molly Holt, who also worth hearing