terça-feira, 20 de agosto de 2013

Dexys - One Day I'm Going to Soar

 Dexys - One Day I'm Going to Soar - 2012

One Day I'm Going to Soar is a concept album with an unreliable narrator, a comeback LP about being stuck in a self-defeating cycle, and a soul record dedicated partly to exposing its singer as an untrustworthy shit. For devotees of bandleader Kevin Rowland-- and there are many, despite the last Dexys album having come out 27 years ago-- this is exactly what they've been hoping to hear. For anyone else, an hour in Rowland's company will be more of an effort, though probably one worth making. The new record picks up where 1985's Don't Stand Me Down left off. That album was a commercial disaster that became a cult favorite for its emotional complexity and its formal daring, as tracks cut mid-song into long conversations between Rowland and bandmates. Some of these were awkwardly revealing chit-chat, some statements of belief. Dexys Midnight Runners, as they were known in the 80s, always had a reputation for passion and honesty, but there was an uncomfortable intimacy about the Don't Stand Me Down work which made it their most difficult but gripping record. 


01. Now
02. Lost
03. Me
04. She Got a Wiggle
05. You
06. I'm Thinking of You
07. I'm Always Going to Love You
08. Incapable of Love
09. Nowhere Is Home
10. Free
11. It's O.K. John Joe