sábado, 17 de setembro de 2011

Paul Rodgers and Friends - Live at Montreux 1994


Paul Rodgers and Friends - Live at Montreux 1994 - 2011 

from blogcritics.org
The distinctive voice of Paul Rodgers has been heard on some of the best rock albums released over the years from Free to Bad Company to The Firm to Queen. Not surprisingly, he’s made many friends along the way. So, in July 1994, Rodgers put together an all-star band of his friends to support his 1993 Grammy nominated Muddy Water Blues: A Tribute to Muddy Waters. However, few of the players on that studio release were tapped for Live at Montreux 1994, now on both CD and DVD. Only Queen’s Brian May (guitar), Journey’s Neal Schon (guitar), and Black Country Communion’s Jason Bonham (drums) returned to join the other performers on stage in Montreux. New players included Ian Hatton (guitar), John Smithson (bass), Toto’s Steve Lukather (guitar), and blues musicians Eddie Kirkland, Sherman Robertson, Luther Allison, Robert Lucas and Kenny Neal.

As a result, this concert became something of a paint-by-numbers rock/blues evening with some of the best artists in the business filling in the colors. The first two numbers, “Travelling Man” and “Wishing Well,” are ‘70s arena rock warm-ups. The show really begins with “Louisiana Blues” (the first song taken from the studio record) and “Fire And Water” before the ensemble gets down and Delta-dirty with “Muddy Water Blues,” which had been recorded in both electric and acoustic versions for the tribute CD. Other live performances taken from the studio work include Willie Dixon’s “I’m Ready” and a shuffle version of Sonny Boy Williamson’s “Good Morning Little School Girl” featuring May. While he had been on the Muddy Waters album, Beck is only present in spirit with “Let Me Love You Baby.” This track retains the same arrangement heard on Beck’s 1968 Truth LP.


01. Travelling Man
02. Wishing Well
03. Louisiana Blues
04. Fire and Water
05. Muddy Water Blues
06. Good Morning Little School Girl
07. I'm Ready
08. Little Bit of Love
09. Mr. Big
10. Feel like Making Love
11. Let Me Love You Baby
12. The Hunter
13. Can't Get Enough
14. All Right Now
15. Crossroads
16. Hoochie Coochie Man


Nenhum comentário :