quinta-feira, 21 de novembro de 2019

Des Horsfall's Kuschty Rye - The Bastard's Tin

Des Horsfall's Kuschty Rye - The Bastard's Tin - 2019

When the late Ronnie Lane left The Faces in 1973 he surprised everyone with his next move. Forming a band, Slim Chance he took to the road in a caravan and set up shows in a tent. A world away from the rock’n’roll route his former band mates Rod Stewart and Ronnie Wood pursued, Lane’s vision of a bucolic English entertainment briefly captured the limelight before he tragically succumbed to MS.

Enter Des Horsfall. Thirty years on he’s trying to capture the spirit of Lane’s endeavour on a trilogy of albums that he hopes will reflect the original Slim Chance releases. Naming his band after a Lane song, Kuschty Rye, which befitting Lane’s attempt to emulate a gypsy lifestyle was a Romany term that loosely translated means a “good gentleman, someone in touch with the Romany ways, Horsfall gives us an album of jaunty acoustic singalongs which do have a louche swagger about them. Rather than offer a straightforward album of cover versions the Lane connection consists of covers of Careless Love and The Poacher with eight self penned songs that share the loose, slung together attitude of Slim Chance. With assistance from members of Slim Chance including Benny Gallagher, Charlie Hart and Steve Simpson Kuschty Rye deliver a rootsy, acoustic based run through of blues, folk and Cajun influenced songs that approach the likes of Ron Kavana.

01. Chameleon (With Pete Townshend)
02. I Know a Little Bit (About a Lot of Things)
03. Richmond Green
04. Stone
05. Anyway
06. That's Not On
07. Tin & Tambourine
08. Going Mobile
09. Debris
10. Whisky on Your Breath
11. Whistle to Blow
12. Further Down the Line
13. Ooh La La

Des Horsfall - Lead Vocals, Harmony Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Resonator Guitar, Harmonica, Percussion
Pete Townshend - Guitar, Lead Vocals
Neil Howarth, Steve Simpson - Guitar
Simon Othen - Guitar, Mandolin
Chris Turner - Bass Guitar, Harmony Vocals
Pete Mayhew - Acoustic Guitar (8)
Andy McKerlie - Piano, Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar
Andy Wells - Organ
Charlie Hart, Steve Simpson - Fiddle (2)
Katriona Gilmore - Fiddle, Mandolin, Harmony Vocals
Luke Würmli - Harmonica
Charlie Hart, Eamonn Dinan - Accordion
Chris O'Malley - Piano Accordion
Conor Jim Lawrence - Drums
Jochen Sorg Sig Mayhew, Udo Seidel - Backing Vocals (5)
Pete Mayhew - Backing Vocals
Philipp Renz Shaker, Tambourine – (5)
PJ Wright - Slide Guitar – (6)
Mathias Svensson - Violin
Luke Würmli - Harmonica


Nenhum comentário :