sexta-feira, 14 de maio de 2021

Dave Specter - Blues From The Inside Out

Dave Specter - Blues From The Inside Out - 2019

Blues From The Inside Out is the most expressive project of Dave Specter’s 35-year career. Featuring his debut as a vocalist, the album is an exciting and timely celebration of blues, soul, jazz, funk and gospel. These are fine times to hear Specter, an evolving artist who embraces growth and discovery.

Blues From The Inside Out includes a guest appearance on guitar by Jorma Kaukonen of Jefferson Airplane/Hot Tuna fame, who also co-wrote one of the album’s 12 original tunes. Specter wrote the uplifting soul anthem for change “March Through the Darkness,” he takes a deep dive into Meters-Neville Brothers inspired rhythms with the instrumental “Sanctifunkious” and sings on the blues shuffle title track. Besides Kaukonen, Specter recruited the Chicago-based Liquid Soul horns and Latin-percussion ace Ruben Alvarez, each playing on three tracks.

01. Blues From The Inside Out
02. Ponchatoula Way
03. March Through The Darkness
04. Sanctifunkious
05. How Low Can One Man Go?
06. Asking For A Friend
07. Minor Shout
08. The Blues Ain't Nothing
09. Opposites Attract
10. Soul Drop
11. Wave's Gonna Come
12. String Chillin'


segunda-feira, 10 de maio de 2021

Benjamin Hugg - What's been Happening (RE-RE-Post)

Benjamin Hugg - What's been Happening - 1976

Benjamin Hugg (real name Gareth Hughes) was a Melbourne based folk singer . His first album 'Early One Morning was released in 1974 and garnered the single "Thank God You're Here With Me" which went Top 40. The album had some of Australian best musicians playing on it and was produced by Buddy England. Hugg won Best New Talent at the 1974 King Of Pop awards. His second album 'What's Been Happening' came out in 1976. He died of cancer in the mid 80s

Benjamin Hugg - Vocals, Guitar
Peter Walker - Guitar
Peter Roberts - Bass
Tim Partridge - Funky Bass
Michael Bart - Keyboards & Synth
Russell Dunlop - Drums
Joe Tattersall - Drums Percussion
Geoff Oakes - Sax
John Sayers - Piano
Barry Leef - Backing vocals
P.Walker, B. Hugg & J.Tattersall - additional Backing vocal


sexta-feira, 7 de maio de 2021



Legendary drummer, Mick Fleetwood enlisted an all-star cast for a one-of-a-kind concert honouring the early years of Fleetwood Mac and its founder, Peter Green which was held on 25th February 2020 at the London, Palladium.

The bill included Billy Gibbons, David Gilmour, Jonny Lang, Andy Fairweather Low, John Mayall, Christine McVie, Zak Starkey, Steven Tyler, Bill Wyman, Noel Gallagher, Pete Townshend, Neil Finn, Kirk Hammett and many more. Legendary producer Glyn Johns joined as the executive sound producer and the house band featured Fleetwood himself along with Rick Vito, Andy Fairweather Low, Dave Bronze and Ricky Peterson.

Fleetwood, who curated the list of artists performing, said: “The concert is a celebration of those early blues days where we all began, and it’s important to recognize the profound impact Peter and the early Fleetwood Mac had on the world of music. Peter was my greatest mentor and it gives me such joy to pay tribute to his incredible talent. I am honoured to be sharing the stage with some of the many artists Peter has inspired over the years and who share my great respect for this remarkable musician. ‘Then Play On’...

01. Rolling Man (feat. Rick Vito)
02. Homework (feat. Jonny Lang)
03. Doctor Brown (feat. Billy Gibbons)
04. All Your Love (feat. John Mayall)
05. Rattlesnake Shake (feat. Billy Gibbons & Steven Tyler)
06. Stop Messin’ Round (feat. Christine McVie)
07. Looking for Somebody (feat. Christine McVie)
08. Sandy Mary (feat. Jonny Lang)
09. Love That Burns (feat. Rick Vito)
10. The World Keep Turning (feat. Noel Gallagher)
11. Like Crying (feat. Noel Gallagher)
12. No Place to Go (feat. Rick Vito)
13. Station Man (feat. Pete Townshend)
14. Man of the World (feat. Neil Finn)
15. Oh Well (Pt.1) (feat. Billy Gibbons & Steven Tyler)
16. Oh Well (Pt.2) (feat. David Gilmour)
17. Need Your Love So Bad (feat. Jonny Lang)
18. Black Magic Woman (feat. Rick Vito)
19. The Sky Is Crying (feat. Jeremy Spencer)
20. I Can’t Hold Out (feat. Jeremy Spencer)
21. The Green Manalishi (With The Two Prong Crown) (feat. Billy Gibbons & Kirk Hammett)
22. Albatross (feat. David Gilmour)
23. Shake Your Moneymaker (group finale)


terça-feira, 4 de maio de 2021

Kippington Lodge - Shy Boy - The Complete Recordings 1967-1969

Kippington Lodge - Shy Boy - The Complete Recordings 1967-1969 - 2011

Kippington Lodge released five excellent singles on Parlophone Records between 1967 and 1969, yet they remain one of the least known English pop groups of the late sixties – despite boasting a line-up that included Nick Lowe, Brinsley Schwarz and Bob Andrews (a future member of Graham Parker & The Rumour).

The group evolved from Lowe’s first band, Sounds 4+1, which he formed with school pal, Brinsley.

After leaving school, Lowe, already used to a nomadic existence as his father was in the Royal Air Force, decided to go and see some more of the world, leaving Schwarz to return to his native Tunbridge Wells in Kent. Here Schwarz formed Three’s A Crowd who were signed to EMI in 1967.

Changing their name to Kippington Lodge they released their debut Shy Boy in October. Lowe returned to England and joined his friends in time for the second single, Rumours.

To supplement their lack of income from record sales, Kippington Lodge became Billie Davies’ backing group and released three further singles during 1968-69. The last single, a version of The Beatles’ In My Life, was released in April 1969.

In September the group replaced Pete Whale with American drummer Billy Rankin and the name Kippington Lodge was dropped in favour of that of their lead guitarist, and the band became Brinsley Schwarz.

Original keyboard player Barry Landerman resurfaced in Vanity Fare.

01. Shy Boy
02. Lady on a Bicycle
03. Rumors
04. And She Cried
05. Tell Me a Story
06. Understand a Woman
07. Tomorrow Today
08. Turn Out the Light
09. In My Life
10. I Can See Her Face
11. Land of Sea
12. Rumors
13. And She Cried
14. Shy Boy
15. Younger Girl

Brinsley Schwarz - Guitar, Vocals
Barry Landerman - Keyboards (1967-69)
Bob Andrews - Keyboards (1969)
Pete Whale - Drums (1967-69)
Bill Rankin - Drums (1969)
Dave Cottam - Bass, Vocals (1967-68)
Nick Lowe - Bass, Vocals (1968-69)